The following functionality allows you to create an online checkout link for a one-time charge or package, such as a virtual or in-person visit. If a patient purchases a package through a checkout link, it is saved and tracked as a real package — it appears on the patient's profile, draws down as items are consumed, generates a package invoice, and is reflected in the Package Sales, Deferred Revenue, and Billed Revenue reports. Purchases made through a checkout page are reported under a distinct "Checkout" purchase channel. The patient will be charged the one-time fee but will not be enrolled in a membership and will show an inactive status on their Hint chart. The practice is notified via email once the patient completes their purchase.
Step 1: Create the charge or package:
Click on 'Admin'
Click on 'Charges, Packages, & Taxes'
Click '+ New Item or Package' and configure the name, price, charge category, and description
Click 'Create'
Step 2: Create a virtual location (Spruce workflow specific)
**Note: If you are not using Spruce for patient communication, skip to step 3.
Click on 'Admin'
Click on 'Providers & Patients'
Click on the 'Locations' tab
Click '+ New Location'
Toggle on 'Virtual' and leave the address field blank
Click 'Save'
Step 3: Create the checkout link to share with patients
Click on 'Admin'
Select 'Online Signup'
Click on the 'Signup Pages' tab
Click '+ New Signup Page'
Select the shopping cart icon
Select the charge item or package from the Charge dropdown. Each option is labeled as either an item or a package. e.g. Virtual Visit, House Call, etc.
Name the URL in the 'checkout/' field
Optional settings:
If your practice has multiple providers, you can enable provider settings to select which providers patients can choose from on this online signup page by selecting them one at a time. You can select one or multiple.
If your practice has multiple locations, you can enable location settings to select which locations patients can choose from on this online signup page by selecting them one at a time, as shown in the video below. You can select one or multiple.
Enable confirmation settings to add a confirmation message or redirect patients to your practice's website
Click 'Create
Copying the new link to share with patients or post on your website:
Navigate back to the the 'Signup Pages' tab
Right-click on the new link in the 'URL' column and click 'Copy Link Address'.
Now that the address is copied to your clipboard and you can paste it where needed.
*Please note: A patient's payment method is not kept on file after they complete a charge checkout page. Payment information is only kept on file if the patient completes a membership signup form.
You can also set up a virtual appointment checkout as a one-time charge checkout page. Once you've created a signup link for a one-time virtual visit, your patients can pay for this visit without being enrolled in a membership. Your team will receive an email notification when a patient completes the checkout process. The follow overviews the patient experience when purchasing a one-time visit.
Your default online signup page settings will apply, including any default patient contracts. If you have a virtual visit-specific patient agreement, please reach out to support@hint.com to help with the configurations.
If you would like to set up a page redirect to your Elation booking site or scheduling tool, please reach out to support with the redirect link. Learn how to set up your Elation booking site here.




